Settled

I wondered at some point if I was ever going to settle in and be done with the chaos of change and sacrifice and finally bring my children to the place we will finally call home.  Seemed like it would never happen. Now here is am on my deck drinking coffee watching the early activity of birds in the still-bare branches. The area behind my lot is undeveloped park land. It could almost feel like living far out of the city if not for the water tower and tall hospital in the distance, and the cries of fire engine sirens.  The Redwing blackbirds are feasting on bird seed and the wind chime sings very softly in a light breeze. For the first time in years I don’t need to “do” anything. I have ideas and projects but now just the coffee, and the birds and the trees.

Leave a Reply

